A family's journey of learning how to make a home, save money and be healthy… while having fun doing it!

Chinese Chippendale Chairs- Before and After

Leave a comment

I have been waiting patiently since we moved in to this new house to give this set of chairs a little upgrade (they were covered in shiny brown paint and fabric that just didn’t match in our house).

chair 1 (1)

I debated a ton of “refinishing” options:

  • sanding them and then staining
  • spraying it white or black for a classic look
  • going bright turquoise, navy, or even a fun yellow/green color

But then my sister thought of a charcoal color and I was sold. Although I wish I was more adventurous with color in my decorating (from seeing all of these beautiful colorful, Pinterest homes) I just can’t seem to breakaway from my grey habit/slightly masculine color taste in design.

I’ve wanted Chinese Chippendale chairs since I can remember. I’ve always loved the style. So I updated mine with a light grey linen tablecloth (cheaper than buying fabric!), a test-size can of paint in charcoal grey, a hand sander and a staple gun.

Here’s what they look like now:

chair 2

 

Leave a Reply

