A family's journey of learning how to make a home, save money and be healthy… while having fun doing it!

A question for homeowners…

Leave a comment

Lately Greg  and I have been toying with the idea of owning a home. Every day we go back and forth on the advantages and disadvantages of owning a home… I like the idea that a home would be mine and I could have a yard for Auden and a garden, but I’m just not sure if I want the added responsibility of the upkeep and the repairs. I like the fact that when something is wrong with my condo, I just call someone to fix it. I am still in college and we are currently working on a plan to pay off our all of our debt (almost there, we only have two random things left besides our car and student loans, yay!) But I like knowing where our money is going to, with no surprise home repairs. So my question to home owners is: has it been worth it, or do you feel like a slave to your house financially? There are so many things I want to accomplish, like vacations, grad school, and living in different parts of the country that I’m just not sure if a house makes sense financially. On the other side, because I’ve never been a homeowner- maybe it is all worth it? Maybe giving up a yearly vacation or not having the newest technology is absolutely worth home ownership.

Leave a Reply

