A family's journey of learning how to make a home, save money and be healthy… while having fun doing it!

It’s a Wonderful Life

Leave a comment

It’s a Wonderful Life

Merry Christmas, everyone! This year was a huge success. Our family didn’t take on more than we could handle this year, and we actually had time to cook and to watch a Christmas movie together.

My goal this year was to have great memories, and lots of family time.  That is what Christmas is all about.  Love, being able to relax, fun, and memories. Love has long been commercialized, which works great for retailers- because people will always try and prove their love more and more by spending more and more. I did end up running around (with a cold) the night before Christmas-eve tying up some last minute things, even though I swore I wouldn’t this year.  I am not against it, but kids can’t be bought.  Gifts are fun, but gifts aren’t what memories are made of and with the small amount of time I have off from school to enjoy being a stress-free mom, I wanted every second to count.

After reading one of the blogs I follow, I decided this year I wanted to try something new relating to gifts. Instead of giving out candles, bath sets, and neck ties, our family decided experiences were more important this year. I used a couple deal sites to score some cool things for family. My mother in-law got a massage, my Aunt got a facial, and my future sister-in-law got yoga classes.

When everyone asked what Auden wanted this year, I tried to emphasize that our house is small and Auden has TONS of toys but what we would really love are experiences with Auden. Check out Becoming Minimalist’s post for moms: Minimalism for Moms

Our Aunt got Auden a zoo pass for the family (which we can use all year round for the Milwaukee Zoo and other area zoos and aquariums) which I’m incredibly excited about! Auden loves animals and I can’t wait to spend as many days as possible at the zoo with him! My still received mostly toys, but that’s okay too- a lot of the toys were things like Legos, Lincoln Logs, and Play-Doh that develop spacial skills.

Plus, who can resist seeing a little boy’s dream come true after receiving Buzz and Woody for Christmas? This was one of my favorite Christmases in a long time, and I was very grateful to spend the time enjoying family and relaxing. I hope everyone else had a fun, relaxing holiday as well!

Leave a Reply

